The Monotony of Self-care

Eating, drinking, showering, cleaning teeth, brushing hair. That’s self-care, right?

It is, but there’s so much more to self-care than the short list above. Self-care is everything I need to do to stay well. Some of that will cross over into specific relapse prevention techniques, but I’ve found that thinking of it as self-care is more helpful.

My days include basics like eating, drinking, bathing, and sleeping, but there’s much more to it than that. There’s daily medication, then PRN medication to help manage varying mental health symptoms, as well as managing ME/CFS symptoms and flare ups.

I usually have one major task to complete each day that brings a sense of success and achievement. That could be work (retail cashier), a small gardening project, a household chore, or an outing (eg. a friend taking me grocery shopping, or going to a healthcare appointment).

On top of all that I try to do at least one thing each day that brings me joy or pleasure. What that activity is can vary greatly. There’s creative projects (eg. knitting, painting, colouring in, sewing), gardening, taking photos of the birds that visit the birdbath in my courtyard, watching a movie, taking an epsom salt bath etc. It’s a limitless list!

In between each activity there’s rest. Lying down to help ease pain or changing from a high energy activity (eg. household chores) to a quieter activity like watching a movie or TV show on my laptop. Resting so often, and so much is how I carefully manage ME/CFS symptoms.

My final activity most days is journalling. I turn my laptop, and the TV off. I turn a small lamp on in my bedroom, and turn off the main light. Then I get all our journalling supplies (we each have our own pen to write with) and our journal and get started. I write everything that comes to mind. I let my thoughts wander and write whatever comes. I checkin with everyone and we, as a group (a committee!) discuss whatever comes up.

I usually take bedtime medications that make me drowsy halfway through journalling. By the time we’re done writing we’re sleepy, relaxed, and ready to sleep.

This, all of this, is self-care. Every single day. Over, and over, and over. This is part of staying well.

What do you do to take care of yourself?

One thought on “The Monotony of Self-care

  1. Hey, you’ve written this with such heart, I’m a little teary.. I am better with this then I used to be, self care was this thing that hung heavy in the air and something I hated having to notice I needed to do. I still forget sometimes. One of the things I notice about how I self care are the ppl I allow into my life.. each of them are beautiful souls. Being in relationship seriously challenges me to give a shit about what I want and need and naming things to Andrew has been and still is a learning curve. Thank you for offering up this blog, love reading it xx

Leave your comments

