A Gratitude Journal and Positivity for the Year Ahead.

We’re well into the new year now but I wanted to share something I have planned for 2013 – a gratitude journal. Towards the end of every year I struggle with disappointment as I reflect on what I have achieved (or not) during the year. The unhappy times, the pain and the chaos are the things that stand out most. The moments of happiness, joy, pleasure and gratitude are usually forgotten. This year is going to be different.

For Christmas I was given a beautiful, handmade journal from a dear friend and didn’t know what I was going to do with it. It felt far too special to actually use. I didn’t want to use it for regular journaling because it wasn’t lined and was far too pretty for the hundreds of pages I end up writing during the year. I was stumped until I was browsing Reddit and saw the following picture.

(from Reddit)

(from Reddit)

 

I really liked this idea and could imagine how good it would feel to remember all the wonderful things from the year. I wasn’t sure about what kind of jar or vase I’d use or paper, but then Christmas came around and I received my journal. There was the solution!

 

The cover.

The cover.

 

...and the cute little bookmarks!

…and the cute little bookmarks!

 

I haven’t written a lot in there yet, but I’m working on it. Even now, it’s nice to flick through the pages and remember the fun stuff. I’m hoping that by the end of the year I’ll have filled half the journal with the great things I’ve done, seen, said and received. For now I’ll leave you with a few of the good things in my life for 2013 and encourage you to do something similar!

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Gratitude Journal and Positivity for the Year Ahead.

Leave your comments

