Medic Alert for Mental Illness.

I bought myself a new piece of jewellery recently. I’ve never bought myself any remotely expensive jewellery. Ever. It’s a pretty, shiny, silver bracelet. It was exciting to receive it in the mail, yet, there’s also an element of disappointment.

Here’s why:

My new bracelet.

It’s a Medic Alert bracelet. That’s where the disappointment comes in. It honestly feels like failure to actually need this. I feel disappointed in myself that the level of dissociation I experience actually warrants a medic alert bracelet. I do also have epilepsy, but given that I’ve only ever had one seizure and don’t require medication, I don’t see it as an issue. I certainly wouldn’t have bought the bracelet just for the epilepsy.

It does mean that if I were to become catatonic again (which is likely), that those who don’t know me will have some idea of what’s going on and how to help. Mostly it happens with people I know. Often I know when I’m beginning to dissociate and, if in public, can get myself somewhere safe or work on grounding.

The little wallet card I have is great too. Lists all my diagnoses, medications and a little extra information.

“Catatonic Episodes can occur, last typically 2-8 hours – Can hear what is being said but unable to respond. Physical touch can be upsetting and increase catatonic state. See Notes.”

I wrote a list of things that are helpful for others to do/know and the Medic Alert Foundation have that on file. However, I can’t remember what’s on there and I think I need to go over it as I filled out the online form very quickly. Updating my information is a bit tricky though as the site doesn’t work very well.

Anyhow – Pros: Shiny, new bracelet! Cons: It’s medic alert.

6 thoughts on “Medic Alert for Mental Illness.

  1. Brilliant. I had one for Von Willebrands disease, but never thought of getting one for DID and PTSD. Maybe part of me is ashamed, but given the consequences of a dissociative episode being misinterpreted by the people unfamiliar with the symptoms and best practices, I would rather be embarrassed then forcibly medicated and/or detained. Keep on going.

  2. I’m proud of you…this encourages me to get one again (I had one for narcolepsy when I was first diagnosed over two decades ago). Now that I know that I have PTSD and suspect that I could have DID I know I need it. I forget my own cell phone number a lot, which puzzles my husband.

Leave your comments

